Home   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

Chakra Healing: How Does It Work?

Chakra or chakras are best described as energy centres that surround our physical being. Although they may not be physically visible, chakras are responsible for the flow of energy in and out of the body. Balancing your chakras helps the energy to flow more freely within the body, resulting in a better physical, mental and spiritual state.

Chakras work by absorbing energies from the universe and other living things, such as nature and even energy from other people. Have you ever noticed how you feel depressed around someone depressive or happier when you are surrounded by happier people? It has a lot to do with the energy chakras.

Chakras may influence our thoughts and behaviours, and if one of your chakras is blocked out, or not functioning correctly, it could block energy from entering the body. This blockage results in imbalances and possibly even disease and illness. These imbalances are then manifested through our existence and energy channels within our body. From time to time, your chakras can become blocked, preventing them from functioning correctly.

Balancing your chakras refers to the practice of aligning your energies so that they work together in harmony. Chakras are commonly balanced through yoga and meditation; however, physical exercise, a positive chain of thoughts and focused breathing can also help to align your chakras.

There are also healing practices that are carried out by qualified healers to help you align your chakras for optimal balance. These practices can help to identify and possibly even channel out illness. Chakra healing is one of these practices, and is done through a process of using crystals and coloured gemstones. Each chakra has its own colour, and placing a gemstone of that chakra's colour can restore the balance. Clear crystals can also be used for monitoring the response of chakras.

There are seven main chakras in the body and each one is represented by a specific sound and colour. The list below will give you a rough guideline about the various chakra positions and their respective colours:

  • 1. Root or base chakra Red
  • 2. Navel or sex chakra Orange
  • 3. Stomach or solar plexus chakra Yellow
  • 4. Heart chakra Green
  • 5. Throat chakra Blue
  • 6. Third eye or brow chakra Indigo
  • 7. Crown chakra Yellow

Each of the chakras is responsible for various feelings and emotions, as well as specific organs in the body. Blocked chakras can affect certain feelings. For example, the first chakra the root chakra, which is found at the base of the spine is responsible for financial issues and feelings of insecurity.

The second chakra, located in the pelvic area, has to do with the energy surrounding your sexuality. It is also a communication medium for kidney functioning. The third chakra is located in the solar plexus. This chakra has to do with stomach and liver functioning as well as personal power. The fourth chakra is located at the chest, and is responsible for love issues and the health of your heart. The fifth chakra is located in the throat area, and is responsible for communication. The sixth chakra is located on the forehead, and is commonly referred to as "the third eye". This chakra is responsible for feelings of intuition. The last and seventh chakra is located at the crown, and is responsible for connecting us with the universe.

Crystals work through electromagnetic fields of energy. With human beings, the energy or aura is also an electromagnetic field. When chakra healing is performed, the vibrations of the crystals tend to balance out the energy. Chakra healers are also able to identify possible illnesses; however, it is advisable to get a second opinion from your medical practitioner just to double check.

Author: Dimi Ingle
Copyright 2008: Remedium. This article may not be copied, in whole or in part, without the written consent of Remedium.

Privacy Policy