Home   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

Vegetarians and Protein

Ever wondered how vegetarians obtain their protein sources without consuming meat? Find out how, right here.

There are three major classifications of vegetarians: Vegans, who are the strictest types of eaters and only eat plant sources. Lacto-vegetarians do not eat meat, but consume dairy products, and lacto-ovo-vegetarians who eat both dairy and eggs, but will still not eat meat products.

Because vegetarians do not eat animal products, many question whether or not these types of eaters are getting in enough protein. After all, protein generally comes from animal products, right?



While animal proteins are the most complete proteins, vegetarians can get their protein sources from vegetable sources. Meat, shellfish, eggs and milk are all complete proteins, meaning that they have enough essential amino acids to make proteins in the human body (cells, muscle) The vegetable substance soy is also classified as a complete protein, and it is this protein that allows vegetarians to obtain most of their amino acids.

Proteins are also found in fruits and grains, however, these numbers are relatively small, and these types of foods are known to not have all the essential amino acids. They are therefore known as incomplete proteins, and in this case vegetarians would need to supplement their meals in order to obtain all the essential amino acids.

Copyright 2007: Remedium. This article may not be copied, in whole or in part, without the written consent of Remedium.

Privacy Policy